The Freedom to Choosepancakes

This morning, July 1st, I took my grandson to the Steak and Shake in Hiram, GA, for breakfast. They offered all you can eat pancakes for $3.99 and I thought it would be a great idea to spend some quality time with James, since it was his eleventh birthday.

As we sat and chatted over a number of things, my attention was snagged by the good natured laughter of a group of men from an antique car club, as evidenced by the parking lot. Have you ever noticed that most of the people who drive antique cars usually are themselves, antiques? But I digress.

The freedom to choose is inherently at the root of all our God given freedoms (among them are the Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness). We are commanded to choose life over death, liberty over bondage. The pursuit of true, eternal happiness over the temporal pleasure is a choice we all grapple with on a daily basis.

I remember the first time I was given a choice. I was raised in a God-fearing family. My dad, a factory worker in the GM Plant, Wilmington, DE, Division, made all the major choices for my two brothers and two sisters and me. So on my eleventh birthday, he came home with a used bicycle and asked me, “Bryan, what color do you want me to paint your bike?”

bicycleI had never thought about it. I stood, staring at my birthday gift with a myriad of color choices before me. “Chinese red,” I said.

To this day, I’m not quite sure why I chose that color, but I did. It was the first time I had ever exercised my freedom to choose and I relished the moment. Since then, I’ve made countless choices, some good, some not so good. It’s been said, ‘You can make your choice, but you can’t choose the consequences.’ That’s close, but no cigar.

I bring this up because just outside the window of the restaurant where my, now eleven year old grandson and I sat, was an antique car, the same color of my first bicycle . . . Chinese Red, and I was reminded of my first choice.

This holiday, thank God for your freedom to choose and choose Life.

A 4th of July

For more creative stories by Author Bryan Powell, visit his website at; www.authorbryanpowell.wordpress.com or his Facebook page at; www.facebook.com/authorbryanmpowell or his virtual bookstore at;

http://thehirambookstore.alibrisstore.com/.

