Luke 13:33-35  “Jerusalem, Jerusalem, you who kill the prophets and stone those sent to you, how often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, and you were not willing. (NIV) The light wind which swept across the praire was usually a welcomed relief from the hot summer sun, but not today. A lightning strike earlier in the morning sparked a small flame which, when fanned by the breeze grew to a raging inferno that consumed everything in its path. After the fire had passed, I went out to survey the damage…it was extensive. As I turned to retrace my steps, I stumbled over a clump. To me, it seemed little more than a ball of scorched leaves. But upon closer inspection, I found it to be a chicken. Its feathers and flesh burnt beyond recognition, yet when I lifted its wing, out came six little chicks, healthy and hungry. In that moment, I thought of my Heavenly Father, how He longs to take me under His wing and protect me from the raging fires of lust, hatred and sin. How often do we wander the proverbial yard, pecking at the ground, scratching out a living rather than desiring His presence and protection? Why not choose today to hear His voice. He eagerly waits. PRAYER: Lord Jesus, keep me as the apple of Your eye; hide me in the shadow of Your wings from the evil that surrounds me, from the wicked one who seeks to destroy me. I need your provision and protection; in Jesus name, Amen. If you’ve been blessed by these thoughts, please contact me.

